Strawberry Basil Scones

23 Apr

This, my friends, is a post of celebrations.

First, thanks to all of you, this blog has reached 1,000 views! This seems like  a small milestone–but it truly feels awesome to share my love of all things baked with the world. So: thank you, thank you, thank you!

Secondly, I’m off on a baby vacation this week, which means finally (after 100+ days, ouch!) laying my eyes on the person I wish I could bake for every single day.

And lastly, for my birthday last week I got a new scone pan! (Thank you, Kathy!!) It’s amazing–I don’t feel like I have tons of crumbly scone waste like I have in the past. So, to christen my pan I decided to go for a combination that’s a little out of the box, but it totally works. Try it out, and please, keep reading!

Strawberry Basil Scones

Adapted from Happyolks

Printable Recipe

2 1/2 cup flour

2 tablespoons sugar

1 teaspoon baking powder

1/4 teaspoon salt

1/2 cup cold butter, grated or cut into cubes

1 1/2 cup strawberries, hulled and cut into small pieces

2 tablespoons basil, minced

1/2 buttermilk

2 eggs

heavy cream

sugar

Preheat oven to 400°. In a large bowl, whisk together the dry ingredients. Cut in butter, until the mixture resembles coarse sand. Mix in the strawberries and basil. In a small bowl, whisk together the buttermilk and eggs until well-combined. Pour the wet ingredients into the dry mixture and mix until thoroughly moistened.

Turn the dough out on to a parchment lined baking sheet and pat into a disk about 1″ in thickness. Cut into 8 wedges. Alternatively, divide the dough between the sections on your brand-new scone pan. Brush each wedge with heavy cream and sprinkle with sugar. Bake 15-20 minutes, until just lightly golden brown.

One Response to “Strawberry Basil Scones”

  1. Ron Allen April 24, 2012 at 6:27 AM #

    Hope they last long enough for me to try them!

Leave a Reply

