On Try, Trying Again

2 Mar

Sadly, there is no recipe to share today. Im fact, I’ve been having a disastrous time in the kitchen lately. Like knock ’em down, drag ’em out disasters. It’s enough to bring a grown baker to tears.

There was the attempt to make homemade ladyfingers:

The mountain pile of half-done crêpes I failed to flip:

And these seemingly easy coconut palmiers that I overstuffed:

Granted, there were all yummy even though they were not beautiful or functional. They made for good snacking even if they weren’t useful in any way but snacking.

It’s all a little much, really. I mean, what gives? Did I dream too big? Did I admire one too many tart pans in the kitchen store? Never in my baking life have I had so many things go wrong so often. I can’t say I’m enjoying my slice of humble pie (and humble lady fingers, and humble crêpes, and humble palmiers), but there they are.

Needless to say, I’m a little wary to get back on the baking horse. The coconut palmiers recipe seemed simple enough: frozen puff pastry, shredded coconut, some sugar, a hot oven. It bothered me to use the frozen puff pastry, but sometimes a person just feels too crazy to ride the Totally From Scratch train. And even that didn’t work!

So what’s a baking girl to do? Throw in the kitchen towel? I mean, we just got that new mixer–seems a shame to only make one thing with her before being brought to my knees by unruly recipes.

But you know, I don’t really have a choice. It’s not like I’d be down with giving up something I love so much just because a few afternoon’s worth of work didn’t go my way. I don’t know what’s different now, but it’s just something I’m going to have to power through, hopefully learning a little patience and grace along the way. Because sometimes, if everything goes according to recipe, you end up with something delicious. And that makes it all worth it.

(I can’t stick to my claim of no recipe, so…here you go!)

Coconut Palmiers

frozen puff pastry, thawed

granulated sugar

shredded coconut

Preheat oven to 425°. Line two baking sheets with parchment paper or Silpat mats. Unfold puff pastry on a piece of parchment paper, and lightly coat with sugar. Sprinkle a thin layer of coconut over the sugar, and, using the parchment paper to help, roll the pastry up into a pinwheel. Using a sharp knife, cut the roll into 1/4″ slices. Bake 5 minutes, flip the cookies, and return to oven to bake for another 5 minutes.

In the end, I did get these to work, I just needed to remember that more isn’t always better. Sometimes that can be a hard lesson to learn.

One Response to “On Try, Trying Again”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Lemon Crêpe Cake « baking all the rules - April 15, 2012

    […] the way, how glad are we that I didn’t end up with this mess […]

Leave a Reply

